Call for Nominations: The 2024 Elsevier/JQSRT Raymond Viskanta Awards

This Elsevier young-scientist award in the category of Radiative Transfer is named after Professor Raymond Viskanta (1931-2021) of Purdue University (West Lafayette, Indiana, USA) to honor his profound contributions to the field of Radiative Transfer since 1950s.
The Viskanta Award on Radiation Transfer for 2024 is open to early-career scientists and engineers who work on the theory and application of radiative transfer. There will be one award to be presented at the 5th International Workshop on Nano-Micro Thermal Radiation, Nanorad2024 in Sapporo, Japan (17-19 July, 2024).

A nominee:
  • can be an undergraduate, a graduate or a postgraduate student, or in his/her early career path with an outstanding record of scholarship and/or applications;
  • has not received a JQSRT Young Scientist Award previously;
  • has published in JQSRT previously, although this requirement may be relaxed in exceptional cases;
  • must be under 37 years of age on June 1, 2024 and must have finished his/her PhD within the 10 years preceding that date;
  • must present a paper at Nanorad2024;
  • must attend the award ceremony at Nanorad2024.

The recipients of the award will receive an official certificate. The winner will be selected by a Committee, whose members include two JQSRT Editors-in-Chief, and several prominent researchers including a number of JQSRT Associate Editors.
The complete nomination package of a candidate should be e-mailed to M.P. Mengüç (pinar.menguc@ozyegin.edu.tr) and Zhuomin Zhang (zhuomin.zhang@me.gatech.edu) and K. Miyazaki(miyazaki.koji.962@m.kyushu-u.ac.jp) by April 1, 2024. The package, in the form of a single PDF file, should include a cover letter by the nominator, the CV, up to three additional letters of support, and up to 5 best peer-reviewed journal papers.
The announcement and nomination details are available on the Award section of the JQSRT website (see: Viskanta Award: https://www.journals.elsevier.com/journal-of-quantitative-spectroscopy-and-radiative-transfer/awards-winners/jqsrt-young-scientist-award).